Why enter

  • There is no entry fee
  • All entries will be reviewed by the AR and AJ editorial teams
  • The architects shortlisted for the Moira Gemmill and MJ Long prizes will present their work to an international judging panel on Wednesday 1 March
  • All shortlisted projects and practices will be featured in the March issue of The Architectural Review, while the Architects’ Journal will cover all work in the UK
  • All shortlisted architects will be invited to the W Lunch, a joyful opportunity to meet and network with friends and colleagues and to hear from inspiring figures working in and around architecture, where the winners will be announced

Who can enter

  • the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture is open to female and non-binary practice founders who are under the age of 45 (born after 1 January 1978) and based anywhere in the world
  • the MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice is awarded to UK-based female and non-binary architects working in practice and who have been project architect on a building completed after 1 January 2021
  • the new Prize for Research in Gender and Architecture is looking to receive research projects undertaken by individuals (of any gender) or collectives from around the world investigating the spatial implications of gender and sexuality

How to enter

  • please read the full entry guidelines to confirm the eligibility criteria for the category you have in mind
  • visit the entry page and fill in the form – whether you are submitting your own work or nominating someone else
  • if you are submitting your own work please upload a portfolio of recent projects; if you are nominating someone else, please supply as much as information as possible, and we will contact the nominee to request their portfolio

We need role models for every young woman out there. The more you are able to see yourself reflected in the wider culture, the more impactful it becomes: the W Awards are a platform, and we can’t ever assume that this work is over.

Lesley Lokko, winner of the 2021 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize