Formerly known as Women in Architecture, the W Awards celebrate exemplary work by women and non-binary people, and in the fields of gender and architecture.

Renaming the awards in 2020, along with the associated W Programme, reflects an evolution in how we think about identity, how we understand our gender structures and systems of categorisation, as well as the myriad intersectional challenges that marginalised groups face. We hope to make room for multiple identities and complex conversations, and will continue to celebrate the exceptional work of people who are systemically undervalued by the society in which we live.

The W Awards are now open for entries. You can submit your own work or nominate a talented architect – we have noticed that women and non-binary people are less likely to put themselves forward for awards.

Nominations and entries are free and winners will be honoured at the W Lunch on 3 March 2023 at Battersea Arts Centre in London. Extended deadline: 2 December. We look forward to receiving your submissions!

I was extremely happy to see the change in the name from Women in Architecture to W. We have to think in non-binary terms in our times.

Beatriz Colomina, winner of the 2020 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize