2024 Winners:

MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice 2024

Jennifer Frewen, Associate director, Takero Shimazaki Architects, Royal Academy of Dance

Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture 2024


Nguyễn Hà, ARB Architects, Vietnam

Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture 2024

Highly commended

Noelia Monteiro, Estudio Flume, Brazil

Jane Drew Prize for Architecture 2024

Iwona Buczkowska
Architect Iwona Buczkowska has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize for Architecture 2024, an award recognising an architectural designer who, through their work and commitment to design excellence, has raised the profile of women in architecture. The Polish-French architect designed the largest timber housing complex in France, the Cité Pierre Sémard – a social housing project of 225 units completed in 1992 in Seine-Saint-Denis. Founding her practice Atelier Iwona Buczkowska in 1980, Buczkowska has completed several radical social housing projects and public buildings in France.

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture 2024

Angela Davis
Political activist, philosopher and writer Angela Davis is the winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture 2024, which recognises individuals, from fields adjacent to and that intersect with architecture, who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. Davis is a leader of the movement for abolition of the prison system as well as an important voice in other fields of civil rights activism. Davis’s latest book Abolition: Politics, Practices, Promises, Volume 1 is due to be published by Penguin in March.

Prize for Research in Gender and Architecture 2024

Mycket for Heaven

Heaven is an installation that marks the culmination of nearly a decade of research into the architecture of queer nightclubs. Mycket is an art, design and architecture group based in Sweden, and initiated in 2012 by Mariana Alves Silva, Katarina Bonnevier and Thérèse Kristiansson.